Hitting another vehicle and taking off without exchanging information with the other driver is irresponsible, especially when people are hurt.
Personal injury laws in Houston, TX state that an at-fault driver is liable for any injuries they cause.
Here, you will learn how to respond to this type of accident.
What Happens If You Sustain a Personal Injury From a Hit-and-Run?
This type of accident involves a driver who flees the crash scene to avoid liability for the accident.
In Texas, this kind of action can be considered either a felony or a misdemeanor.
Possible Levels of Conviction for a Hit-and-Run
When a hit-and-run occurs, your immediate response should be the same as it would be for any car accident. You should check yourself and others for injuries, contact the police, and notify your insurance company.
Houston Injury Lawyers can Help
Regardless of whether or not you know who hit you, we can help you leverage the legal system and the terms of your insurance policies to get the compensation you deserve.
Hit and Run, What do I do Now?
Often, the accident may happen by uninsured or underinsured individuals who know they would need to pay out-of-pocket for the accident.
In Texas, you can charge with either a felony or a misdemeanor.
The crime would be considered a misdemeanor if it resulted in property damage but no injuries or fatalities. Accidents causing damage valued at or over $200 are Class B misdemeanors. In contrast, any amount of property damage under $200 qualifies the hit-and-run as a Class C misdemeanor.
Regardless of whether or not you know who hit you, we can help you leverage the legal system and the terms of your insurance policies to get the compensation you deserve. To get in touch with us, contact Houston Injury Lawyers PLLC.